C-3PO’s Red Arm Magically turns back to Gold in ‘TFA?’

After watching Star Wars The Force Awakens three times (and counting…) I realized something that caught my eye. I picked up on this the first time I saw it but I had to go back to the theaters a few more times just to be sure.  

Towards the end of the film shortly after R2-D2 awoke and gave the Resistance much needed information on Luke’s whereabouts, we see Rey begin her search of Luke while bringing with her R2-D2 and Chewie.  As the camera pans over the crowd we see C-3PO wave goodbye to his friends.  However, as you can see in the photo below, he has NO red arm anymore.

Just a few scenes prior, he still had the red arm which leads me to believe that this must have been some kind of mistake right? After all it wasn’t really explained why C-3PO had the red arm until recently from a comic book. Apparently he lost his original arm for another droids sacrifice. I haven’t read the comic nor am I that interested. What I’d like to know is why did J.J. Abrams decide to change his arm that was red the ENTIRE movie until the very last scene? I would love it if someone could explain this to me.

I just felt that C-3PO having a red arm was very unnecessary to the story and for them to just replace it by the end of the film seemed a little cheap. Why even have it brought up if it just gets replaced by the end of the film? I know it’s a nod to the readers (such as myself) but if you’re not going to keep the red arm why change it? At least that’s how I feel.

What do you think? Do you think it was a mistake by the TFA’s editing crew or do you actually believe they intended to change his arm back to gold without further explaining? I’d like to hear your thoughts in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

