5 Reasons To Give Josh Trank’s ‘Fantastic Four’ Reboot a Chance

Even before that first trailer was released for this film, many movie fans (myself included) were whining and griping about the new  Fantastic Four  reboot.  There were plenty of stories going on about the making of this film including rumors (that may or may not have been true) that mentioned things that happened on the set.  Most of those rumors included the director himself Josh Trank. Word of mouth spread like wildfire proclaiming that Trank behaved irresponsibly while filming.

Lots of movie news websites mentioned that Trank would come into work “so high he couldn’t speak almost everyday.”  There were also numerous reports of Trank destroying some of the movie sets while demeaning the cast.  These rumors were used as a scapegoat as to why the marketing had been held up for this film.  Though the cast hasn’t specifically said any of this was true, it still bodes plenty of questions and concerns about this reboot.  

No one seems to have a straight answer as to where these rumors and news came about.  However rumors aside, this film looks to be headed in the right direction.  Say what you want about the previous two iterations of our favorite Baxter Building employees.  I actually enjoyed the first film.  It was fun, humorous and had its moments of excitement.  Sure the humor may have overwritten the story, but for just a superhero film it was a solid entry.  The same however cannot be said for the sequel.  I could gripe about that film all day and night but I won’t, at least not here.

Ever since that first trailer hit I was still a bit skeptical on a reboot for this franchise.  Though just a teaser, Trank showed us a different look and feel for the tone of this film.  It definitely looks darker and more serious similar to Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy with a little humor sprinkled around it.

Then the second trailer hit among other films that will be debuting shortly including  Ant-Man, Jurassic World,  and  Tomorrowland.  I have to say that this second trailer excites me a little more and gives me hope that we may receive an imaginative superhero sci-fi/horror film (at least that looks like the direction Trank is heading).

Even though this may not be a fantastic (pardon the pun) film, it may in fact surprise us.  There are several reasons why I believe we should give this film at least a chance for those of you who are simply on the fence.  So here are my “5 Reasons To Give Josh Trank’s Fantastic Four  Reboot a Chance.”

5.  The Cast

Let’s start off with the basics.  The cast looks pretty well rounded when you first look at it.  You have Miles Teller  (Whiplash)  playing Reed Richards,  Kate Mara  (House of Cards, 24)  playing Sue Storm, Michael B. Jordan  (Chronicle)  playing Johnny Storm,  and Toby Kebbell  (The Adventures of Tintin) playing Ben Grimm.  You also have the film’s antagonist Victor Domashev played by Toby Kebbell (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes).  Overall, the cast looks good with solid actors becoming one of Marvel’s most popular team of heroes.

4.  A Darker Approach

Darker doesn’t always mean better but in the case of this reboot, it may actually work.  Trank looks to be aiming more towards a sci-fi/horror film meaning there will be plenty of elements mixed in between both of the genres.  The way the team obtains their powers is still up for debate however what we can see from these trailers is that they will be having a tough time acclimating to their new super powers.  In a way, these four characters are monsters in their own right.  They will have to learn to harness their powers and use them for the good of mankind.  Seeing the team come together should be entertaining to say the least.  Hopefully Trank will show us better team chemistry than what was handed to us from the previous two entries.

3.  The Thing Looks Incredible

Michael Chiklis’s role as The Thing in the 2005’s  Fantastic Four  was for me one of the bright spots in the film.  The humor worked well especially when Captain Ameri err I mean Johnny Storm’s antics ran wild between the both of them.  If there’s one thing they got right from the comics it’s the constant love/hate relationship between both characters.  I wasn’t too pleased with the makeup look that was given to us for this character.  Did it HAVE to be CGI?  No, but I feel as though it would have looked better than all of the prosthetic’s that were used.  It seemed a little too cartoonish to me, although that was the vibe I was getting from both films so I guess it made sense in that context.

However, I have to honestly say that the CGI version of this character looks astounding!  This presentation for The Thing looks far better than the prosthetic version.  The special effects crew did an incredible job with the details of the rock structure as well as the look on his face.  He appears as a force to be reckoned with.  It will be interesting to hear how Ben Grimm will sound when he is turned into this rock-like creature.  My hopes are very high for this take on The Thing and I have a feeling we won’t be disappointed.

2.  DOOM is Coming

Another grievance that fans had with the previous films was the take on Doctor Doom.  I completely agree that his character was not utilized properly and the blame goes mainly toward the writers.  We were not given that menacing Doctor Doom that we all love from the comics.  What we were given much like The Thing was a cartoon version of the powerful villain completely without his famous Latverian accent.

Here is what the end of the movies’ plot synopsis states:  “Their lives irrevocably upended, the team must learn to harness their daunting new abilities and work together to save Earth from a former friend turned enemy.”

“A former friend turned enemy,”  doesn’t really give us much to go on.  However, late last year actor Toby Kebbell shed some more light on his character and what we can expect from him in this film:  “He’s Victor Domashev, not Victor Von Doom in our story.  And I’m sure I’ll be sent to jail for telling you that.  The Doom in ours—I’m a programmer.  Very anti-social programmer.  And on blogging sites I’m ‘Doom.”

Changing the name from his well known title Victor Von Doom to Victor Domashev doesn’t bother me.  What does bother me is his description:  “I’m a programmer. Very anti-social programmer. And on blogging sites I’m Doom.”  This is the part I’m more worried about.  A programmer?  A blogger? That’s not what one of the most powerful Marvel villains is supposed to be about!  He’s more a mad scientist than a frickin blogger!  Give me a break.

Now I have a theory.  What if Victor starts out as a blogger in the film and his blogger name is ‘Doom?’ Maybe that’s his day job where he was once a very anti-social programmer and focused only on his computer intellect.  Then he makes some friends with the ones who ultimately become the Fantastic Four.  Somehow he is recruited to go on this mission and then things become bleak.  He eventually becomes a villain who we all know is Doctor Doom.

At least that’s what I’m hoping for.  Hearing Doom as a blogger sounds like a downright stupid idea.  But you know what, I believe that the writers know what they are doing in this film.  The character bio may not sound good on paper, but I’m willing to give this one a try.  After all, much like the look of The Thing, that one shot of Doom in this trailer gives me some hope.  He may not look EXACTLY like the comic book version of Doctor Doom, but in Trank’s version he doesn’t have to.

1.  20th Century Fox is on a Roll!

Now I’m not going to sugarcoat this film one bit.  Could this film suck?  Absolutely.  Could it be a HUGE disappointment?  Absolutely.  Could it be one of the worst comic book superhero films of all time?  Once again, absolutely.  However, when it comes to 20th Century Fox, I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt.  Fox’s track record as of late has been pretty consistent especially when talking about the X-Men films.  We had some terrible one’s  (X-Men Origins: Wolverine),  decent one’s (X-Men: The Last Stand; The Wolverine),  and some great one’s  (X-Men; X2: X-Men United; X-Men: First Class; X-Men: Days of Future Past).

By looking at this track record I’d have to give Fox the benefit of the doubt especially after their previous two entries:  X-Men: First Class  and last year’s  X-Men: Days of Future Past.  You can also make an argument and say that  The Wolverine  was pretty good (although I agree that the ending ruined the experience for me as well).

Even with all of the rumors swirling around, the whole blogger Doom thing, and just the overall tone may shy some people away from wanting to see this film. Nonetheless, I am here today to tell you to give this film a chance.  I may have sounded a bit negative towards this film but like I already said I don’t want to sugarcoat anything.  I will tell it like it is. Just like we should never judge a book by its cover, the same can be said for trailers: Never judge a film by its trailer(s).

After watching the second trailer for this rebooted  Fantastic Four  franchise, I have to say that I am now excited to see what type of story Trank will be bringing us.  This movie could disappoint us in many ways, but as I have already mentioned I am willing to give this film a chance.  But the real question is will YOU?

So after reading my five reasons do you feel more confident going into this film?  Or do you feel more detracted after my descriptions?  Please share your thoughts and comment below!      

Sources:  The Hollywood Reporter 

2 thoughts on “5 Reasons To Give Josh Trank’s ‘Fantastic Four’ Reboot a Chance

Leave a Reply

