Is Christian Bale Jealous of the Batfleck?

Well moviegoers, the rumors are true: Christian Bale really is jealous of Ben Affleck being cast as the famous Dark Knight. In a recent interview with Empire Magazine, Bale was candid.

“I’ve got to admit initially, even though I felt that it was the right time to stop, there was always a bit of me going, ‘oh go on…let’s do another.’  So when I heard there was someone else doing it, there was a moment where I just stopped and stared into nothing for half an hour.”

The Oscar winner went on to say, “But I’m 40.  The fact that I’m jealous of someone else playing Batman…I think I should have gotten over it by now.”

Read more:  https://www.yahoo.com/movies/christian-bale-was-a-little-jealous-that-ben-affleck-is-103467185547.html.

It seems as though Bale was a little perturbed about having to give up a character that he’d played to such acclaim in Christopher Nolan’s trilogy.  In my view, he brought Batman to life better than any of the actors who have put on the mask before him.

On the other hand, Bale extended his support and a vote of confidence to Affleck as the Batman torch is passed on to him, saying “I wish him all the best. He’s a very experienced actor and filmmaker and he’ll make it his own…It should be passed onto another actor and it will be again after him.”

Bale is also open to assisting his successor.

“I haven’t spoken with Ben, but I emailed him offering bits of advice that I learned the hard way.  I would imagine he is doing everything he can to avoid anything that I did.”

It will be very interesting to see how Affleck ultimately fares as the caped crusader and unfortunately, that verdict will have to wait until March 25, 2016, when Batman vs Superman  hits theaters.

Are you excited to see how Ben Affleck will perform as the new Batman or is it your wish that Christian Bale had continued on as the caped crusader?  Comment below and tell me what you think!

2 thoughts on “Is Christian Bale Jealous of the Batfleck?

Leave a Reply

