Why a ‘Toy Story 4’ Can’t Hurt

When I was just four years old, Disney/Pixar studios created one of the most beloved and endearing movie franchises of all time, one that is near and dear to my heart: Toy Story.

As a kid, I recited many famous lines from the movie over and over again including “what are you lookin’ at ya hockey puck,” “there’s a snake in my boot,” and everyone’s favorite, “TO INFINITY AND BEYOND!!!” I grew up with the Toy Story films and this treasured series has stayed with me ever since.

When I heard rumors that Disney/Pixar was possibly making a fourth  Toy Story  film, I was a bit skeptical and angry. They had just finished the third film with a fantastic, heartwarming ending!

The story seemed complete; seeing Andy grow up from a young boy in  Toy Story  1  and 2  and then seeing him off to college as a young man in the third film provided a perfect storyline for the movies, especially considering the significant gap between  Toy Story 2  (1999) and  Toy Story 3  (2010), a total of 11 years!

However, I have to say that the third film really blew me away and was one I could relate to because I was a college student myself at the time. It helped to close the loop and elevate the franchise, considering that the second one was great but lacking in the charm of the original.

It was so good that it’s hard to compare the first and third films and not give them a 10/10 rating. With the combination of the respective the plots, animation, voice acting, and the Disney brand name, you have one fantastic collection of films!

The ending of  Toy Story 3  was PERFECT. Seeing Andy entrusting his toys with a little girl he’d just met, Bonnie, and then driving away was incredibly emotional. Andy grew up and bonded with these toys and had many adventures playing with them, as we see throughout the films.

This is probably something everyone can relate to, the relationship between a child and his toys. Having to say goodbye after all those years together was obviously extremely difficult, but he knew he had a decision to make and did not want to see his friends thrown away.

He wanted someone to love and cherish them as he did. Seeing Andy change from a child to an adult in that final moment brought tears to my eyes, because it brought an end to his childhood innocence. Once again, the third film was a PERFECT ending to a PERFECT movie as well as a PERFECT ending to a PERFECT trilogy.

Now as I stated earlier, I am still a bit skeptical about Disney/Pixar Studios creating a fourth film for the franchise and that is where things become difficult. As unconvinced as I am about Disney/Pixar making a fourth film and going beyond that tender conclusion, I have faith that they will do a wonderful job.

The popularity of characters like Woody and the gang has endured in movie shorts such as  Toy Story Hawaiian Vacation,  Toy Story of Terror,  and the soon to be released  Toy Story That Time Forgot.

As the Director and CEO of Disney/Pixar Studios, John Lasseter, wrote “we love these characters so much; they are like family to us. We don’t want to do anything with them unless it lives up to or surpasses what’s gone before. Toy Story 3  ended Woody and Buzz’s story with Andy so perfect that for a long time, we never even talked about doing another  ‘Toy Story ’  movie. But when Andrew, Pete, Lee and I came up with this new idea, I just could not stop thinking about it. It was so exciting to me, I knew we had to make this movie—and I wanted to direct it myself.” (Lasseters quote and others from his statement can be found here): https://variety.com/2014/film/news/john-lasseter-to-direct-toy-story-4-out-in-2017-1201349848/.

I am hoping and praying that the new idea that they are talking about will be a real treat. I don’t want the  Toy Story  adventure somehow ruined, even accidentally. Hearing that the original creators are returning to direct and produce this fourth film gives me some solace, considering their track record.

Having the original cast (Tom Hanks and Tim Allen), directors, and producers would go a long way towards helping insure its success. As the old saying goes, though, “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it.”

So while the thought of a fourth movie is scary, I nonetheless have to trust that Disney/Pixar knows what they are doing. These films have been one of, if not Disney’s biggest movie franchise and this gives me hope. It’s a dilemma, but if they do come out with a new film (the tentative date right now is sometime in 2017), there’s no doubt I’ll be watching it. It can’t hurt, right?

What do you guys think? Do you feel as conflicted as I do? Are you excited about Disney making a fourth  Toy Story  film or are you more on the fence about it like I am? Share your thoughts and comments below!

2 thoughts on “Why a ‘Toy Story 4’ Can’t Hurt

Leave a Reply

